Susie Homemaker in Training

I actually started our new lifestyle on July 27.  I am not a cook by any means, but I saw “Forks Over Knives” on Netflix and it was a huge wake up call regarding my family’s poor nutrition. So Monday night I made a Caprese Quinoa Salad that I found in my new vegetarian cookbook. Holy shit, it’s delicious….  

You can find the real recipe in The Eat Clean Diet Vegetarian Cookbook. Also, The Fit Housewife has the recipe on her blog. The only thing I did different was use couscous instead of quinoa.

Tuesdays and Thursdays are a little trickier because Bug is with us. Although we want her to eat healthier, it’s also not fair to expect her to completely change everything over night. But being the awesome kid she is, she is willing to try my cooking. Here’s what Tuesday’s dinner looked like.  

Grilled Shrimp with Avocado Linguine…. Not half bad. This recipe is also from The Eat Clean Diet Vegetarian Cookbook but I found a link to it on slapdashmom.com  Great blog for recipes and crafts! The sauce needs a little tweaking. But surprisingly Bug really seemed to enjoy it! I know there is no substitute for Olive Garden’s Fettuccine Alfredo but this was a great way to blend in some veggies to our meal.

I have to say that the first two days of healthy eating have been a success. I have lost 3 pounds and gained enough energy to hit the snooze button only twice in the morning.

2 thoughts on “Susie Homemaker in Training

    1. Thanks! I am new to the blogging thing but I think it’s a great way to document our success and struggles. Hopefully catch a laugh too!

      The show is a real punch to the gut. It explains so much of why Frank has the health problems he does. And probably my own too!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

